NRHA Celebrates 50th Anniversary with Special Non Pro Futurity Champions Presentation

Oklahoma City, Okla., Dec. 3—The National Reining Horse Association (NRHA) continued a year-long celebration marking its 50th anniversary year with a special presentation of past Non Pro Futurity champions. Billed as a showcase, the presentation on Dec. 1 included a red-carpet tribute to each of the 24 individuals who have won the Cinch NRHA Non Pro Futurity title since the competition was established in 1976.

From left to right: Mandy McCutcheon, Jim Morgan DVM, Randy Alderson, Charlie Wiederholt, Keith Crawford, Kelle Smith, Jesse Asmussen, Tish Fappani, Lee Vincent, Tom Krshka;, Kristi Rose, Joshua Hattig, Samantha Griffin, Veronica Deans

Held during the NRHA Futurity & Adequan North American Affiliate Championship at State Fair Park in Oklahoma City, Okla., the showcase attracted past champions from across North America. Fifteen winners were on hand to watch a video tribute and walk the red carpet to receive a red rose bouquet and pair of custom spurs created by NRHA Corporate Partner Montana Silversmiths. The gifts and flowers were presented by NRHA President Rick Clark and NRHA Commissioner Gary Carpenter.

Participating champions included Veronica Deans, who won in 2011; Samantha Griffin, 2004; Josh Hattig, 2001; Kristi Rose, 1998; Tom Krshka, 1992; and Lee Vincent, 1979. Two-time Non Pro Futurity champions walking the red carpet included Tish Fappani, 2010 and 2015; Jesse Asmussen, 2012 and 2014; Kelle Smith, 2003 and 2006; Keith Crawford, 1997 and 1999; Charlie Wiederholt, 1991 and 1998; and Randy Alderson, 1976 and 1977.

Also on hand was three-time champion Jim Morgan, DVM, the 1984, 1985 and 1986 winner. The program concluded with 8-time champion Mandy McCutcheon in the spotlight. Her titles span three decades and were won in 1993, 1994, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2012 and 2013. Both Morgan and McCutcheon also are members of the NRHA Hall of Fame. Several of the champions remain active in competition and qualified horses for the 2016 Cinch NRHA Non Pro Futurity Finals.

Past champions unable to attend include three-time champion Richard Greenberg, 1978,1982 and 1983; Chad Clark, 2002; Nancy Flathers, 2000; Stephanie Blair, 1996; Chad Howard, 1990; the late Craig Howard, 1989; Jim Robin, 1987; Christian Tremblay, 1981 and Jim Dudley 1980.

A special thank you to the NRHA Partners:
Adequan®, Anderson Bean Boot Company, Bluebonnet Feeds, Cardinal Reining Horses, Cinch, Classic Equine, Downunder Horsemanship, John Deere, Kiser Arena Specialist, Lucas Oil, MS Diamonds, Texas, Protect the Harvest, Markel Insurance Company, Merial, Montana Silversmiths, Oklahoma City Convention & Visitors Bureau, Platinum Performance, Quarter Horse News, Rios of Mercedes, Santa Hill Ranch, Silver Spurs Equine, Silver Spurs Saddles, SmartPak, Trailguard and Xtra Quarter Horses.

NRHA Event Sponsors: RAM, Sandbur, Not Ruf At All, Twin Cities South Trailers, Twin Cities South Sundowner Trailers, Story Book Stables, Star Spangled Whiz, Shorty’s Caboy Hattery, Continental Saddlery, Equine Oasis, Bob’s Custom Saddles, KO Trading, Elite Stall Mat Rentals, Scott Cleaners, Avila’s Proshop, Brandt Blankets, Mr. Electric Spark, Old Sorrel Western Sports Apparel, John Vance Autogroup, Boot Barn

Share Button